Heritage

Bowring Park boasts a proud heritage predominantly dating back to the Georgian Period. Its archaeology, history, natural and built environment all add to the importance and value of this community park. Some of the key features that remain within the park and define its heritage value are:

  • Formal Gardens: These include the following:
    • Walled Garden and Potting Sheds
    • Dell (Sunken Garden)
    • Terrace Lawn and Ha Ha

 

  • Buildings: including The Coach House and Stables Block – now used for the Visitor & Community Centre and the Golf Course Reception and Clubhouse

 

  •  Parkland Landscapes/Vistas: including a rich stock of veteran trees showcasing the original landscape layout of the estate

 

 

  • Local Wildlife Site: covering the western side of the Golf Course including valuable grasslands and a pond habitat
  • Other Features: original stone pillars and walling; foundations of the original buildings (two gatehouses (Roby & Liverpool Lodges) and the original footprint of Roby Hall itself (currently used as the Car Park for the site).

Lost Heritage Features

Over the years, many original estate features have been lost but are recorded in documents and images relating to the Park. These lost features include:

  • Roby Old Hall: lost soon after 1936 according to historic maps.
  • Roby Hall: The 1761 Hall fell into disrepair in the 1950s and was demolished at this time.

 

  • Gatehouses: Roby Lodge (Eastern Entrance) and Liverpool Lodge (Western Entrance).

 

 

  • Potting Sheds: The original potting sheds were replaced in the 1950s – a section of these were demolished in the 1990s.
  • Greenhouses/Vineries: originally around the Walled Gardens, no greenhouses or vineries stand within the Park today.

  

 

  • Landscape Vistas: obstructed by the opening of the M62 motorway and Roby Road in 1973.
  • Northern Boundary: altered when Roby Road was built in 1973. A remnant portion of the park now lies north of Roby Road, and is now known locally as ‘Nanny Goat Park’. Knowsley Council secured ownership of this land in July 2014 with the intention of incorporating the land back into the Park and safeguarding the original heritage features under the restoration project.